If you just got arrested for drunk driving in Michigan for the first time, then you’re probably terrified! And who could blame you – being arrested is scary. Especially if this is your first time. Many people who’ve never dealt with the police before, and have never even been handcuffed before, encounter the police for the first time due to drunk driving. It’s a very frightening experience, and part of that is not knowing what happens next. People who’ve been arrested before know what to expect, so the process isn’t nearly as scary for them. But for first-timers it can be horrifying.
So am I going to jail now that I’ve been arrested?
In the immediate sense, yes. The officer who arrests you is probably going to take you to jail. But that doesn’t mean you’ll end up there in the long term. If an officer arrests someone for driving under the influence, they can’t simply tell them to drive home and sleep it off! If someone if legally too drunk to drive, they have to be taken somewhere where they can safely sober up so that they’re not a danger to others. According to the police, the best place for that is jail. So yes, right after you get arrested for drunk driving, you’ll be taken to jail. That’s pretty standard practice in Michigan whether the arrest takes place in Grand Rapids, Lansing, Detroit, Ann Arbor or Clinton County.
Some people are released the very next day!
Once you wake up in the ‘drunk tank’ the next day, you’ll probably feel awful. In addition to your hangover, you will have had a stressful night and probably a very uncomfortable sleep. However, assuming this isn’t your second or third DUI, and you didn’t hurt anyone or damage any property with your car, you may be released the very next morning, after you’ve been told to check in about your upcoming court date. Some people are held until they can be arraigned, which usually takes place the very next business day.
Will I lose my Michigan driver’s license?
You might! For a first-time DUI offender, you may have your license suspended for 30 days. After that, there’s a 150 day period of license restrictions that you’ll have to abide by. You’ll also have six points added to your license. And if you happened to refuse the breath test at the police station, it’s critical that your attorney contact the Secretary of State within 14 days of your arrest, or your driver’s license will be suspended for one year!
So what’s going to happen to me?
Well, every case is different, and there are many factors that will affect the outcome in your particular case. How drunk you were plays a role (was your BAC over .17, because if so, you;re looking at ‘super drunk’ charges, which is a whole other level of serious!) If you hit another car, or a telephone pole, or a street sign, chances are it will make your punishments more severe, even if this is your first time. You may be able to avoid jail altogether, depending on the factors in your case and how good your attorney is, but you’re still looking at probation, high fines, and license restrictions.
Make sure you get a really good drunk driving attorney!
If you or a loved one have been accused of drunk driving in Michigan, there’s only one thing you should do now – call The Kronzek Firm immediately! Our skilled drunk driving defense attorneys have spent decades defending the people in Michigan against drunk driving charges , and have earned many favorable results for our clients. Call us at 866 766 5245 (866 7No Jail) now. We are available 24/7 to help you pick up the pieces and get your life back on track.