If you’ve just been arrested for drunk driving, and you’re trying to figure out what happens next, then don’t start here. You need to take a moment and get caught up before you read this one. Don’t worry, we’ll wait….. Ready? Good. Let’s hit the road. Sober, of course!
What happens now depends on what you get arrested for.
One of the biggest issues people face when they get busted for drunk driving, is not knowing what’s going to happen next. When do they go to court? Will they have to go to jail? Should they hire an attorney? (YES!) So if this sounds like you (confused and possibly hung over), we figured we’d clear up a couple of points for you.
“Drunk driving” is a big umbrella, and there are lots of different charges that fit under there. Each one means something different, and has different consequences. For example:
Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)
This is a misdemeanor that could earn you up to 93 days in jail, or up to 360 hours of community service. You’re also looking at several hundred dollars in fines, restrictions on your driver’s license for as long as three months (ouch!), and four points added to your driving record (which will make your car insurance payments more expensive in the long run!) You might even have your car immobilized for 90 days!
Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)
Just like the OWVI, you lose your driver’s licence for up to three months, face 90 days in jail (or a LOT of community service hours!) and you’ll have to pay expensive fines. But this version of the DUI comes with six points on your license instead of four, and there’s a good chance you’ll have to get an ignition interlock device installed on your car, which is expensive. And guess who’s paying for that? (That’s right – you!)
‘Super Drunk’ OWI (High BAC) in Michigan
This one’s a toughie! To sum it up, take the basic DUI penalties, and double them. So, up to six months in jail, high fines, and up to a year of no driver’s license. That’s right! You could lose your driver’s license for a whole year! However, some judges let you have it back after 45 days, as long as you have an ignition interlock device installed on your car (which is expensive, remember?)
Your best option: don’t drink and drive!
Even a first time DUI charge for people with no criminal records are super harsh! Michigan doesn’t mess around. Drunk driving is a very serious crime, and if you get busted, you’ll get punished. The best way to avoid this? Don’t drink and drive.
But if it’s already too late for that advice…
So you screwed up, and now you’re knee deep in legal doo-doo and you need help. We get it. Everyone makes mistakes. Sometimes even the most law-abiding citizens can mess it up! But don’t worry. Our experienced drunk driving defense attorneys have helped thousands of clients who’ve been busted for drunk driving over the decades. We understand Michigan’s drunk driving laws inside and out, and we can help you figure this out. So call us right now at 866 766 5245 (866 7No Jail), and let’s talk about your options. Remember, the right attorney is critical.